Any Recommendations for Paint Sprayer, brand?,type?

CaptNugget

im looking into getting a paint sprayer and was jus wondering if anyone could suggest one that would work well.
im sick of using rattle cans and jus want to get some good tools now..
any suggestions on brand? type? certain specs? size? place to buy?
im looking for one i can clean and use over and over not just a single use one
dont want to spend too much but i kno a nice one will probably be costly...id like something professional grade or close to it
any suggestions are welcomed with open ears, thanks and appreciate the help as always
:confused1::helpsmilie:

paulhew

Ok just my 2 cents as I am a self taught idiot and have made all the mistakes. I bought top of the line paint equipment but barely use it now. unless I have a custom colour to spray or a very large surface area. The main reason for not using it is because the amount of time required to load and unload / clean the gun etc. Especially when doing multiple coats. There are also so many variables when setting up your spray gun and you will probably have to do some troubleshooting on whatever you buy.
Rattlecans are nice as long as you don't get one that blobs out, or clogs. People keep saying its all in the prep work and its so true. I can get just as good a finish from a rattle can or a spray gun.
Just my 3 cents:wink:

When you start looking into a spray gun,look for one with a tip size of around 1.0 to1.3. Tip. You will get the best atomizing of the paint. Course metalic use larger tip size. A HVLP touch up gun works good for getting into the tight spots of the frame. You will have to practice to get the feel of it and how heavy to put it on.