Got my first mini bike

Posted this in the Cat owners group page but figured I would put it here too.

Hello all,
I am new to the mini bike world as I just got my first one. It is a Cat 400x with a 4hp Tecumseh on it. I took it around the street a little and it is super fun. I was hoping to get some advice from some more experienced members as far as maintence goes. I would like to create a maintence checklist for the bike to keep it in good shape for riding. Please give feedback as far as how to's for maintence and other reccomendations/ advice. Possibly there is a manual out there?? New to this type of thing and need advice as far as maintence goes. Thanks!

Hey Dug,

Welcome to the OldMiniBikes.

Cat 400 and 4 hp tecumseh..nice.

I'm not a cat officianado (but I like them), and I think the 4 hp tecumseh is the correct motor type.

Show us some pictures.

Again, welcome !

Hey, Welcome to OldMiniBikes. I am also somewhat new, but own several mini bikes, one of which is a Cat 400x (mine has a 3hp Briggs though). Maintenance on the mini bike should not be too big of a deal as long as it is running fine. Engine wise, you should change your oil around every 15-20 hours of use, change the air filter once it starts to look dirty, and always use clean, new gas. On the mini bike, it would be a good idea to grease the wheels once a year. Other than that, as long as you take care of the bike, and do not beat on it, that should be all the maintenance it needs.

Last edited:
Thanks for the replies and I will try to post pictures soon. Does anyone know of where I could get a manual by any chance?

Buckeye, it is red.

Hello all,
Here are some photos.

In the first photo you can see the pull start. After taking the pictures, I decided to start it up. It started but now the pull start will not go all the way back in. It is about a foot out of completely being wound up. I really need advice as far as how to fix this! Also,