My first Mini Bike - Rupp Continental

Hello Folks - I've wanted to build a mini bike for about 5 years now. Two weeks ago I went to an old bike shop and he had a Rupp Continental sitting out back. Clearly it's been out in the weather for awhile, and it's missing the engine, but all and all it looks like good start to a project for $50.

I have no experience with building mini bikes so any help you guys could provide would be great. Take a look at my photo album and tell what you think.

Picasa Web Albums - Denver - Mini Bike Pro...

I've got the bike striped down and started painting with rustoleum. Is that a good paint for old mini bike frames? If not, what is a good paint?

Nice Continental for 50 bucks. I would just use chrome cleaner on the fenders if your not re-chroming them. I would also use Dupli color over Rustoleum if your using paint cans. Here,s my Continental.

mybiz

Sand it back down and primer and sand and repeat until your happy. And before you shoot you color on go get yourself some tack cloth and wipe it down good and shoot light coats on it. Sand and paint some more. Its takes a lot of sanding and repainting to end up with a paint job thats going to last. And allways before painting wipe down whatever your painting with the tack cloth. And nice $50 find:wink:

was it cold when you painted? also sand it down like mybiz said prime paint then if you want clear (not needed it gloss paint already) and it has to be warm when you paint