Need help (1965? Honda 49cc)

Hey guys. New member here. I'm a student @ FSU and I'm really not enjoying the mileage my F-150 gets around town. I need help getting old betsy here running. The last time I rode it, was maybe 6-7 years ago. Its been sitting in a garage ever since. No compression, and all I know about it is its a 1960's 49cc Honda with a 2-speed manual.

I was thinking about tearing it apart and seeing if I can rebuild it myself, but I found a 49cc Honda w/ a 4-speed manual online for $150. Will a four-speed increase the top speed or should I save the money and just stick with this old engine?

Your bike is a 1974 Honda QA50 K2. Your serial number should be QA50-3 followed by six additional numbers. This was the only year Honda used the Candy Orange metallic color on this bike.

It is a 49 cc OHV engine (has push rods) with a two-speed tranny (which is prone to "slip" in second gear). These engines never had much compression feel at the kick start lever even when new - and you can literally start this engine by actuating the kick start lever with your hand. If you truly have no compression as measured by a compression gauge, you will need to take apart the top end to see if you have an issue with valves not sealing properly...or a problem with piston rings. Not a very complicated engine to work on. Quite a few parts are available through your local Honda dealer, plus several online retailers + eBay. You can also find copies of the factory service manual for sale on eBay as well.

I have never mounted a Z50 (or XR or CRF) style horizontal cylinder engine into a QA50 frame - so, unfortunately, I can't give you a clear answer to that question, but....