new guy question: is a Bad Dog considered a doodlebug?

I am new to the minibike hobby, wondering if my bad dog frame is what y'all call a doodlebug. See photo, decorated for our Mardi Gras parade tomorrow.
BTW, this forum is great, I have gotten a bunch of info already! 20150206_101323~2.jpg
Thanks,
Redbuddy

Hey redbuddy! Nice Bad Dog, looks like your set for Carnival.

I got one, I just consider it a Bad Dog. A Doodlebug, in the modern sense, is a Chinese import also known as a DB30. It's a specific minibike and you'll see a lot of them here in various configurations. A Doodlebug in the vintage sense can be a couple different minibikes from different manufacturers. But a Bad Dog is a Bad Dog. If you say that around here, we'll all know what you got:thumbsup:

Last edited:
Welcome to OldMiniBikes! A doodlebug is a cheap Chinese version of the classic tube frame minibike, we like em for guilt free modifying but they break if you ask too much from them and I do not mean the engines because they are broke from the drop. A Bad Dog is an American made minibike, built with pride and most importantly with American labor. Your Bad Dog is considered a modern minibike basically, I've never had one but would not hesitate to buy one for the right price. The kits are pricey IMO, I prefer medium to large frame vintage minibikes that I can buy cheap and then make into the bike I want. Under all those beads and the mask your bike looks well done, I like purple anyway so it's a great color too.

What parade?

I have thought it would be fun to do a Mardi Gras parade.
Post photos of your adventure.
We have a parade in our neighborhood , about 50 entries, mostly golf carts, a few cars, some bicycles and a scooter and ONE mini bike. I was doin good til my clutch started heating up and then my chain

broke, so I had to push her about a mile home. No worries, OldMiniBikes will be sending me some chain and a bunch of other stuff next week.