New guys log/build!

Hey guys! My name is Tyler, im from northern california. Im pretty new to minibikes but Ive tinkered with small motors before, such as lawnmowers and weedeaters. So Im not TOTALLY stupid when it comes to these things, but everything Ive learned ive taught myself by just taking things apart and figuring out how they work. Because of this I dont know all the technical names for the parts and things, Haha.

Anyways, this is how it started. I bought a house about a year ago, and just got my garage setup as far as tools work bench and what not. So I decided I wanted a project. After searching through craigslist I found an older baja mini for 150 bucks.

The person said it had no problems, but once I got home and took it for a test drive I discovered the hard way that the throttle was stuck WIDE OPEN! Other than that it just had a nail in the rear tire.

I took it totally apart that night.

So far ive cleaned up the engine, and started stripping down the old paint that the person before had sprayed on. Ive discovered about 5 coats of paint on this thing, haha.

Red, primer, black, pink, primer. Im actually in the process of stripping down the pieces right now.
Ive also started painting the smaller pieces. Ive decided to just go with a few coats of primer and enamel. I like the glossy primer look.

Also picked up some new grips.

I'll continue to add to this as I progress. Thanks ahead of time for any comments.

I went through an entire can of rust-oleum air craft remover on the fenders and tank tonight. After this I for sure recommend the dupli-color brand aircraft remover. It seems to be more of a foam over the clear rust-oleum. I'll porbably end up going the other can of rust-oleum that I have, and then switch back to the dupli-color.

Heres where I stopped tonight.

Last edited:
Wow. . . I didn't realize how long it had been since Iv'e updated this until now. Haha.

Picked up a 6.5 HF special :laugh:

And here it is!