New guy looking for restoration answers.

Hello OldMiniBikes members,

I have decided to attempt to restore a Herter's minibike. I've never really done a restoration project like this before. Nor have I done much small engine work. I do have a bit of experience on engine work. I've done basic auto maintenance including head gasket replacements. I also work as a CNC machinist to pay the bills. So I do have some knowledge with fixing things and making them work.

I guess my main question is where would you guys start? I'm just assuming that getting the engine running properly is top priority. Mostly because it can be the costly depending on what needs to be done.

Here is where I'm at so far. This bike is basically completely disassembled. It was parked about ten years ago because we had problems keeping it running. I think it was just major carb issues + not knowing much about crabs and carb adjustments. At one time the float had a small hole in it. I think my dad had some one try and patch it. Probably with solder. I haven't had a chance to inspect it yet though. The engine is the H50 model. I've taken the head off to see what condition the engine is in. There is thick black build up around the valves.

So far I've only planned to replace the simple things that I know it needs. I'm still just trying to clean everything up. There was a ton of woodland creature debris. I've ordered a carb rebuild kit. I'll replace the spark plug, and spark plug wire. I'd like to replace the points, once i figure out how... I know there quite a few things I'm not thinking of, but this is my first restoration.

If anyone could give me a general plan of action, it would be greatly helpful. If a job is worth doing, it's worth doing right. I can't wait to ride again.

:scooter:

buckeye

Look though the project log section.

But, you are on the right track.
Get the mechanical stuff done. Obviously the engine needs to be right.
Then you need to get that awesome new power to the rear wheel.