newbie to baja warrior jd 5.5 wont start after porting

hi all im new to this minibike stuff i have a older baja warrior jd 5.5 and i pulled itout of storage and got it running again and it ran good but did notice a lil bog in throttle about midway so i tore the carb out and freshened it up and then pulled the head off and did a mild port/clean up job on it and put it all back together and now she wont start i did have to loosen the exhuast rocker arm to get the the rod on that side out since i got lazy and tried to do this with the motor still in the frame and when i put it back together it felt like there was no compression so i pulled the head cover back off and loosened the exhuast rocker arm which was to tight since my torque wrench is mia and i tried to use the intake rocker as a reference for tightening and now it feels like theres compression again but still it wont start so i changed plugs rechecked the carb and everything is fine except for not being able to torque the exhuast to 17/7lbs is there anyone out there that can throw some ideas out for me to try? i was just looking for a lil more go and ive done the throttle stop removal and then this port otherwise the bike is stock

DZLBIKE

Where are you in Oregon? Use a feeler gauge to set your valve lash. I don't know diddly about Honda type motors, but set it at about .004" and it should get you going.

eugene and i will give that a try as i said im new to these mini bikes but im good with quads so im trying to learn as i go and thnks for your fast response

the rods are on the lifters i saw the rocker arms moving. im almost tempted to go buy a new arbour frieght motor since i cant figure this thing out. i also noticed some gas in the elbow of the air filter and dont know if that is common or not?

do i need to advance my timing if i ported my head?
no.

what did you set the valve lash to? have you re-checked it after trying to start the engine?