Rugblaster's 2015 OldMiniBikes buildoff "cactus donkey" jff

rugblaster

This is my first attempt at this. I'm building this bike for my younger brother to take camping, general pasture riding. So, it will be used primarily off road. They have a Honda Trail 70 now, and they need one more in the stable. They bought a little Sprinter motorhome, so they need little bikes. This frame is a NOS item that was bought out of Missouri. My older brother bought it and some hotrod parts off somebody on the HAMB. It came in an old Bird box, but I'm not sure it is a Bird. It is half again as large as a typical mini bike. It was a kit (just bent tubing, front fork and that front piece the fork bolts to) that was never welded together. The size is ideal because were all 6'+... 250-300 lbs.

I already tacked the frame, otherwise it would be a scratch build. This is my second mini bike I've done. My first is a '70's K&S.
We ordered all new parts from OldMiniBikes. Comet converter, wheels, tires, chain, spacers, brake, axles, beer, hardware etc. Also a new Harbor Freight stove. I have some parts to make heavy duty foot pegs, and a cratered Campbell-Housfeld mini compressor to make a cool gas tank out of. Also will paint and pinstripe it.........should be fun.

Very nice start Rugblaster!! What size are your tires 410 350 6? They look good on those Astro's!! I'll be watchin!! :thumbsup:

rugblaster

Very nice start Rugblaster!! What size are your tires 410 350 6? They look good on those Astro's!! I'll be watchin!! :thumbsup:
Thanks Dogg.....I'll have to look at what size they are and report back. My bro picked them out. He wanted ground clearance and knobbies.

Frame Welding

Finished tacking some stuff together and welded up the fork. Made some tabs for the rear axle.

The fork I tig welded......the rear axle tab needed a big fat mig bead, so I mig welded those.

Frame jig